To Test Or Not To Test

Students taking a test at the University of Vi...

Students taking a test at the University of Vienna at the end of the summer term 2005 (Saturday, June 25, 2005). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tutors. They’re not really an option as much as they are portrayed as a necessary hammer over the head for a successful college process. You’re told you need a tutor for the SAT’s, another one for the ACT’s and yet another to help you write an outstanding entrance essay. You don’t. So just save yourself the trouble and the money, and don’t do it.

Going into testing I was stressed. I wanted a good score. I needed a good score.

So, I went against my own advice and hired an SAT tutor. All the practice tests and exercises were phenomenal. But the day I walked into the packed gymnasium and took out my number two pencils, I knew I was doomed. Testing has never been my thing. Some say that’s not an excuse, either you know the material or you don’t. I may be biased, but I don’t believe that’s the case. I’ve seen some of the most hardworking and intelligent students get beat down by scores. Students that would have excelled at a certain college, but don’t even meet the minimum SAT cutoff.

So, I say, focus on what you know you can do rather than stress over what you’ve never been good at.

For me, that meant looking at schools that were test-optional, so that admissions officers would be able to focus on my classes, grades, and outside school achievements instead. If you, like me, have put countless hours into community service, jobs, extracurricular activities, and have test scores that make you look like an underachiever, maybe you should consider test-optional schools too.

And again, don’t worry about being different or perfect. According to Fairtest.org, “The magazine’s 2012 “Best Colleges” edition rates more than 120 undergraduate institutions with test-optional admissions policies as among the best in their respective categories.”

Not too shabby for someone who never hired a tutor.

Standard

Leave a comment